Skip to content

Hi Blog, How Are You?

December 15, 2010

I have neglected my blog for the past couple of months mainly because of this. But also, almost at the same time the store opened, I started going back to school for graphic design. And even now it sounds crazy but I knew that I couldn’t put it off any longer. Probably since my junior year of college, I have thought about going back to get an A.S. in Graphic Design. When deciding what my major would be in college, I settled on advertising because I figured that it was a good mix of business and creativity (and I had to pick a degree). I thought that an advertising track would encompass some design, but it didn’t, and by then there were too many prerequisites that I hadn’t taken for design to be my minor. After graduating and becoming an account executive at an ad agency, it hit me in an even more concrete way that, although I enjoyed coming up with ideas for advertising campaigns, what I really wanted to do was design them.

It was a little scary at first,  going back to school while staying debt-free and balancing my marriage, a full-time job and a social life, but I knew that the nagging in my heart wasn’t going to go away. I didn’t want to look back on my life and wish I would have taken a shot at a career I really loved. It has always been difficult for me to pinpoint where my passions lie. I was never a girl who wanted to be ____ when I grew up. In the past, I recall saying to friends who were struggling with education/job decisions, “At least you know what gets you excited. When you have that focus you’ll always figure a way to do what you love. I have no idea what job would make me feel fulfilled.” And realistically, I guess  I still don’t totally have the answer to what will fulfill me in a career, but I do have hope that the I am headed in the right direction.

The longings of your heart are not incidental; they are critical messages. The desires of your heart are not to be ignored, they are to be consulted. As the wind turns the weather vane, so God uses your passions to turn your life.

-Max Lucado

No comments yet

Leave a comment