Skip to content

Do You Play The Game?

August 3, 2010

This post from Donald Miller’s blog hit me hard today. Particularly this part:

When I lose my temper, it’s usually because I don’t want to get taken advantage of, I don’t want to be disrespected. I’ve stepped into a game in which people are keeping score, and I’m determined not to lose. But the truth is, there is no game, it’s just a hoax, and the only way to show others there is no game is to lose and show how much it didn’t matter.

It’s easy to look at life as a game that you’re either winning or losing, that you have to get the upper hand and that you have to be right. A lot of times, I think that I must get my point across and stand up for what’s right because I don’t want other people to think their inaccurate information or bad behavior is okay. But in the long run, who is really going to care if you’ve got more check marks in the “right” category? The game is only there if you play it and no matter how frustrating it may be, it’s your choice to walk away. Happiness is understanding that you don’t always have to win.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 4, 2010 10:04 pm

    I just want to say that I don’t think this should apply to insurance. I’m pretty sure I am always getting taking advantage of with that ; )

  2. August 6, 2010 1:53 pm

    Haha, of course insurance doesn’t count. You have to play their game or you’ll be broke;)

Leave a Reply

