Skip to content

Quotes from Norm

April 28, 2010

I logged in to my blog today thinking I was going to post one quote from Norman Vincent Peale, the famous author and preacher. I heard this particular quote some time ago, typed it in my iPhone’s Notes App, forgot about it and happened upon it again the other day. I went online just now to double-check that I had written it down correctly and came upon a site that had several of his quotes. I must be honest, I have never read any of his writing or heard him speak but he has some really great one-liners that I just felt the need to share. Norm seems like an insightful and witty character. I hope these inspirational words help to brighten your day or make you think. I’ll start with the one I had originally intended to post:

“Practice hope. As hopefulness becomes a habit, you can achieve a permanently happy spirit.”

“Drop the idea that you are Atlas carrying the world on your shoulders. The world would go on even without you. Don’t take yourself so seriously.”

“Four things for success: work and pray, think and believe.”

“Getting people to like you is merely the other side of liking them.”

“Be interesting, be enthusiastic… and don’t talk too much.”

“The life of inner peace, being harmonious and without stress, is the easiest type of existence.”

“One of the greatest moments in anybody’s developing experience is when he no longer tries to hide from himself but determines to get acquainted with himself as he really is.”

“There is a real magic in enthusiasm. It spells the difference between mediocrity and accomplishment.”

There are so many great quotes that it was hard to pick just a few of my favorites. I may just have to pick up one of Dr. Peale’s books now.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

