Skip to content

Vegetarian Update

April 13, 2010

Ash Wednesday was the last time I posted and really have no excuse except for being busy and trying to get used to this new diet of no meat and fish. Well, Lent is officially over and I successfully got through it without cheating, save one bowl of cheese grits that I suspect may have been made with chicken broth. After eight weeks of adjusting, being really excited about no meat and then being a little less excited (mainly due to lack of eating-out options), I have decided to continue on my journey being meat-free. I still don’t love the idea of eating fish so for now I will try not to have it too often but am not completely ruling it out. This is a process that I want to evolve naturally and so I am trying to take things one step at a time.

I am surprisingly comfortable not eating meat and it really doesn’t feel like a sacrifice to me at this point. I was always one of those people who thought it was nice to be a vegetarian but didn’t think I could do it myself. But since thrusting myself into a meatless lifestyle, I realized that I didn’t like meat as much as I thought I did. I ate meat because it was there, it was easy and it was what everyone else ate. Since giving it up, I’ve found so many reasons that have reinforced to me that being a vegetarian is a good idea. On top of the obvious benefit of not harming animals, vegetarianism is good for the environment, vegetarians weigh less on average and it forces me to be more adventurous with my cooking and to think more about what I’m eating, among other things. It has also helped tremendously to have a sister and sister-in-law that have both been vegetarians for many years and can help guide me on this new path.

This is definitely not something that makes me better than anyone else or that I’ll use to make people feel bad. It’s just a choice that I am making. Maybe one day I’ll decide it’s not what I want to do any more but I feel good about it right now. For me, this is definitely something to be happy about.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Gary permalink
    April 13, 2010 12:35 pm

    Nice job lady. I support your vegetarianism 100% and I will continue to make delicious veggie dishes for us. Good times!

Leave a Reply

