Skip to content

The Weekly Hap-Up – February 7, 2010

February 8, 2010

This post is a day late due to Super Bowl festivities (I have an excuse)! This was such a fun-filled week. Here are a few things that made it extra special:  

Lost began its last season this week. All I can say is that I am even more confused than ever but loved every minute of it. I don’t know what I’ll do once the show ends. It’s one of the best, if not the best TV shows ever made.  

-We went to the Abumaher International Grocery Store in Winter Park (on Hanging Moss Rd.) for the first time. Even though they were about to close when we got there, we got to look up and down each aisle and were delighted to see so many specialty Middle-Eastern and Indian items that you can’t get at the regular grocery store. There was a whole aisle of curry mixes, a fresh olive bar, exotic spices, handmade baklava and much more. I quickly picked up a box of falafel mix and chicken curry mix and can’t wait to make both. I will definitely be going back to try more items!  

-I made my favorite meal, Cincinnati chili 3-ways. Having grown up in Kentucky with most of my relatives residing in Ohio, I was practically weened on Cincinnati chili. They are nuts about chili in Ohio, so much so that there are chili restaurants on every other corner. I think the combination of the childhood memories, my family’s heritage as well as the fact that it is just delicious is what makes it my favorite. Cincinnati chili is different from regular chili because it has such ingredients as cinnamon, cloves and chocolate and is typically served as a topping over hot dogs or spaghetti. The 3-way is (1) spaghetti (2) chili (3) shredded cheddar cheese. Mmmmm.  

-We went to the Mt. Dora Art Festival and Renninger’s Antique Center. It was our first time going to this particular art fest and found that it was surprisingly large as well as very crowded. Nevertheless, it was so peaceful, strolling up and down the hilly, brick-paved roads on a chilly day and taking in all the beauty from the local art community. We also meandered around Renninger’s which is a winding warehouse-like building filled with antique vendors. There was WWII memorabilia which my husband loved and lots of vintage jewelry that I drooled over. We only bought a few little things including an old glass milk bottle which I’ll use as a vase and a small vintage metal tray that I’ll use for my rings when I take them off at night. We agreed that we’d like to go back to buy some furniture when we have the budget for it. Here are some of my favorite pictures from the trip to Mt. Dora:

-We went to see the movie Crazy Heart for which it’s star, Jeff Bridges, is nominated for a Best Actor Oscar. The story itself doesn’t necessarily break new ground but Bridges’ performance as Bad Blake, the washed-up, booze-soaked country singer was inspired, heartbreaking and completely worthy of acclaim. If you ask me, it’s long overdue, since The Big Lebowski and Fearless are two of my favorite movies.  

-My husband, my dog and I took a moonlit walk one weekday night. I love when I get the inclination to turn off all the distractions of the world and get out to gaze at the stars with my best friend by my side. It’s magical.  

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Gary permalink
    February 9, 2010 10:02 am

    Yeah man I want that WWII stuff. And that certificate of stock that we saw; that goes in my Clooney house. Now for some barley pops.

  2. Mom permalink
    February 9, 2010 10:52 am

    So where is the International Grocery store?

  3. February 9, 2010 11:00 am

    It’s in Winter Park off of Hanging Moss Rd. near 436.

  4. February 9, 2010 1:33 pm

    I was just reading an article about Renninger’s the other day. Apparently it’s like one of the best things FL has to offer. I wanted to check it out sometime to see if it lived up to the hype. Maybe we can all check it out again soon : )

  5. February 9, 2010 2:45 pm

    Definitely! So good! We’ll have to make a date and save up some pennies to buy something nice.

Leave a Reply

