Skip to content

My Final Fantasy

February 5, 2010

If you’re into music like I am, you may have heard of the composer/violinist/singer named Owen Pallett who previously went by the alias Final Fantasy. Owen has recently received acclaim for his new full-length release Heartland . Yesterday, as I was perusing one of my daily indie music blogs, I came across a video of him performing the song Lewis Takes Off His Shirt live at the Hillside Festival last year. I was floored. The thing that made this video so special wasn’t just his performance (although he is a super talented musician) but it’s that right in the middle of him singing and wailing on his violin, it started raining, kinda hard. It was raining enough for any sane person attached to electrical equipment to want to get out of dodge. But he kept playing. He continued while the festival employees scramble around him, while people in the audience are pulling out their umbrellas and even after a roadie tries to coax him offstage. He shouts, “Let me finish the song!” while his fans cheer and clap in a shared acknowledgment that this would be a moment that they would never forget. It was truly transcendent. Watch the video below to see what I am talking about.

As I watched, I couldn’t help but feel giddy. I realized that you can look at his epic performance as a metaphor for life. You’re trying to figure out and then do what makes you happy, what you love, against adversity, maybe even against what some would say is a good idea. And when you make it through, it’s more beautiful and meaningful then it ever could have been if you had just given in or did what everyone wanted you to do. When you keep going, keep striving to the end, the people who love you will be there cheering you on. And you will be forever changed for the better.

That’s my final fantasy. But I have faith that it will be my reality.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Gary permalink
    February 5, 2010 10:49 am

    I love that guy. Brilliant composer, AND he’s a gamer. I just really love the idea that he knows how much those people care for him and his music, and he wants to show them how much he appreciates that love and care. It’s a really special thing that should resonate with anyone.

Leave a Reply

